Eventing in 2018 Part 10! Skate Crazy

Czech figure skater 
Michal Brezina

I debated about whether I should include this or not, considering that it’s not anime-related per se… But in the end, a certain figure skating anime was what set me on this path, so why not?

Back in January of 2018, I bought my very first tickets to a figure skating event: the 2018-19 Grand Prix of Figure Skating Final (Dec 6-9, 2018, in Vancouver Canada).

The 11-month wait after that was filled with other ice shows, and a competition of sorts, not to mention a tense Grand Prix series filled with amazing highs and crushing lows

Well, that’s figure skating. And Yuzu wasn’t the only one — to be honest, it was incredibly disappointing not to see any of my favs, or the top dance team in the world right now, at the GPF…

But there was a silver lining: I appreciated the opportunity to just sit and absorb the performances without having my heart in my throat the whole time. Especially since I only had my iPhone and thus couldn’t take anything better than cropped shots like this. But it was still exhilarating to stand no more than 10 feet away from Patrick Chan, and to meet and speak with Vanessa James and Morgan Ciprès!

IMG_9788

So once again, Thank you, Vancouver! Until next time!

About karice
MAG fan, translator, and localization project manager. I also love musicals, travel and figure skating!

Leave a comment