The twelth memory of 2012: Farewell, oh reputation!

A few weeks ago, to the surprise of many AS posters, the moderators suddenly revealed that the Reputation System was being taken down. This would mean that there was no longer any way to write short notes of praise to other posters, to reward ‘good’ posts and punish posts that were ‘bad’ in various ways.

The main reason this came about seems to be because posters were abusing the system, for e.g., by forming cliques that would pos-rep each other whilst ganging up to neg-rep someone they didn’t like. I do wonder if that was happening in one of the circles I hang around in – I mean, I’d like to think better of the posters whose company I’ve also been enjoying, but you never know…

Personally, I didn’t use the reputation system all that much. I disabled it pretty much as soon as I signed up on AS, and didn’t realise that I had merely turned off any notifications I would get. Some time later, I found out that other people were still using it to leave me comments, and I’d somehow amassed in excess of 100 points. So I started using the system intermittently, checking for comments once in a while and finally using it to praise posts that I found thought-provoking or amusing. I’ll admit to using neg-rep as well, twice: it was on the same person, and I always signed it, though I only realised later that that poster had lost all their rep power by the time I’d taken away the second cookie. However, both times were for something I found unforgivable – swearing at another forum member. Ah well, I also learnt to use the ‘report post’ function in the process, and that’s what I’ll be doing from now on.

In some ways, I’m glad, because some of the anonymous neg-reps I received were incredibly annoying, especially the ones that gave me no chance to respond. I always found them an incredibly cowardly way to avoid having to make and defend your own argument. On the other hand, I will miss being able to make a quick, positive comment on a post I found illuminating, along with the nice or even amusing comments I received through the system. As we’d been informed that these would all disappear, I thought I’d go back and save some of the ones I really enjoyed or appreciated. So, ‘in loving memory’, here are some my favourites:

This was for a post where I observed that Kawamori, as creative director of the Macross universe, would have approved everything that made it to the public. (And yes, I do know who the commenter was.)

This was for a post where I observed that Kawamori, as creative director of the Macross universe, would have
approved everything that made it to the public.
(And yes, I do know who the commenter was.)

Rep_for_post3220630_118_in_thread_Japan's_anime_industry

These two speak for themselves, I'd say.

If you worked it out from the reference, good for you! This was for a summary I posted of a Bakemonogatari event...(^_^)

If you worked it out from the reference, good for you! This was for a summary I posted of a Bakemonogatari event…(^_^)

And my absolute favourite, from Orihara Izaya’s thread in the Durarara!! sub-forum – though I’m afraid you’ll have to zoom in to see it… This one might be confusing if you don’t know the reference – I wrote about it once in a past Year Review post. Alternatively, google is your friend ^^

なっちゃん♥

なっちゃん♥

And yes, 386 is where I ended up, thanks in part to two posters whom I highly respect, who rep’ed one of my more recent contributions. Without further ado, then, farewell!

About karice
MAG fan, amateur translator and political scientist-in-training. I also love musicals, travel and figure skating!

Leave a Reply

