A little update on where I’ve been…

wiped

If you’re wondering where I’ve been the last few weeks…well, the picture above just about sums up how I’m feeling at the moment. I usually take a one or two week break from posting after finishing up my 12 Days of Anime posts…but the start to this year has been crazy. The immediate reason, of course, was the Rakugo Shinjuu interview that I translated—and in some ways, it’s kind of fitting that I’m talking about it again this week, given what happened in episode 5.

I had been looking forward to having a rest after that, to recoup and catch up on a long backlog of anime and translations. But then Lauren Orsini published a piece arguing that screenwriter Okada Mari’s work on the latest Gundam is entirely in keeping with what we’ve seen in the franchise so far. And that’s how my 15th post on Anime ‘Writing’ came to be. I had to do a fair amount of research for the piece—Iron-Blooded Orphans is NOT “Mari Okada’s Gundam”—but it worked out, since I was long overdue for another editorial on screenwriting in this medium!

ibo

But putting aside the Okada interruption, I’d actually planned to have the Ishida x Hayashibara interview translated before starting on my 12 Days posts. So why did I find myself still wrestling with it on the night before the second season started? Well, if you follow me on twitter, you’d know the answer to that. For those of you that don’t, however, here’s what else I’ve been doing over the last few months:

Translating interviews with various Yuri!!! on ICE production staff:

Translating interviews about the first Kizumonogatari film:

kizumonogatari

On top of that, I also helped my friend and fellow translator, frog-kun,1 check several interviews that he translated. These include another Shinbo interview, this time about his work on Le Portrait de Petit Cossette, and an Anime Style piece with the character designer and chief animation director for KonoSuba: God’s Blessing on This Wonderful World!, which is currently available to $5 tier patrons of Wave Motion Cannon and The Canipa Effect only.

And in case you’re wondering, yes, I am being paid for all of this translation work, so please support WMC (and Canipa) if you can, so that we can keep unravelling the mysteries of anime production for you! (And let me just say that, even if Konosuba!―and, in particular, the infamous succubi episode―don’t appeal to you, that was actually quite an interesting interview from a production standpoint!)

In sum, that explains why I’ve taken this little break these past two weeks. I’m actually working on a series of Yuri!!! on ICE editorials that I need to start publishing, lest the “fake news” in the fandom gets out of hand. It’ll be controversial, but my deadline for getting all of the pieces out is August, which is when Kubo and Director Yamamoto Sayo are due to show up at Anime Fest in Texas.

And yes, I’m still working on both of these as well!

So that’s where I’ve been, and where I’ll be heading next (along with trying to finish my dissertation, too). I hope there are things that you’ll enjoy, and if so, please do consider supporting us in our efforts!


  1. In return, frog-kun has been helping me check my translations, including most of the ones I’ve listed above. 

About karice
MAG fan, amateur translator and political scientist-in-training. I also love musicals, travel and figure skating!

2 Responses to A little update on where I’ve been…

  1. shagamu says:

    I’m very interested in reading the “Iron-Blooded Orphans is NOT “Mari Okada’s Gundam”” whenever it’s out. People who think she’s the main creative force behind it are seriously underestimating director Tatsuyuki Nagai’s influence on the show’s story direction.

    Like

Leave a Reply

