A Love Letter to 2016, part 8: and the Euphonium sings again

Moving on to the series that took my AOTY crown last year. This year, I was spoilt for choice with Sound! Euphonium. I really enjoyed the second season, especially the scene in episode 10 where Kumiko confronted Asuka, only to have her own major flaw laid out in front of her. What’s really great about that scene, however, was that Kumiko pulled herself together and said what she really thought, a shift that then continued through the rest of the series in the context of her other important relationships. So whilst certain parts of the fandom railed at various developments in this second season, I absolutely loved what we were presented with, especially from that episode 10 scene onwards.

eupho_s2

However, it was in a little cinema way out in Chiba prefecture that I found the Eupho experience that I remember most fondly from 2016. Two and a half hours out there, two and a half hours back, and about an hour and a half hanging out in a tiny, half-deserted mall…admittedly, the cinema staff were dressed up that day promoting Alice Through the Looking Glass, which was fun to watch. But the real reward was undoubtedly the 103 minutes in that darkened cinema, culminating in a wonderful rendition of “Crescent Moon Dance.” There are no words that can adequately convey what it felt like, but if I had to choose just one, then I’d say that it was, quite simply, overwhelming.

sound-eupho-film

And so I dedicate my eighth love letter to anime in 2016 to that glorious, ephemeral experience, one that I will cherish for a long, long time.

About karice
MAG fan, freelance translator and political scientist-in-training. I also love musicals, travel and figure skating!

Leave a Reply

