Everything is Awesome!! ♪

Surely I don’t have to note where that’s from, right?

I'm the Special? Yes, yes I am...maybe... Well, actually...
I’m the Special? Yes, yes I am…maybe… Well, actually…

I don’t really have much to say about this one, I’m afraid. I am a bit ambivalent about the message that “You can do anything as long as you believe you can,” because there are some things for which this simply isn’t true, not to mention that it really isn’t as easy as having an unexplained eureka! moment. As one of the brightest minds the world has ever seen was known to say:

Genius is one percent inspiration, ninety-nine percent perspiration.

However, as a film, it was just a whole heap of fun, especially all the intertextual references to the classics of pop culture that I grew up with. If there’s anything I would complain about, it’s that it was a bit too crowded, zooming from one piece on to the next. I’m sure I missed a few references and jokes, so that warrants at least one more viewing, but I also think that some of the jokes needed a little more time to breathe: the comic timing just wasn’t always there. Nevertheless, if I were to consider The Lego Movie as a piece of entertainment, then it definitely hit the mark.

About karice
MAG fan, freelance translator and political scientist-in-training. I also love musicals, travel and figure skating!

Leave a Reply

