Memories of 2013: appendix

For the first time since beginning the ’12 days’ format, I’ve added live-action, both from East and West, to this list. There is a little bit of regret associated with this decision: if I’d done so last year, Les Misérables would definitely have made the list (and Utakoi would probably have been the one missing out). Personally, I just found this year to be a relatively weak one for anime. First of all, one of the series that I thought might end up here finished on a less than stellar note (Psycho-Pass, I’m looking at you); even though I still found it very thought provoking personally, the announcement of a continuation has me wondering whether my musings will have any grounds to stand on in a year’s time. Second, I’ve found myself incredibly low on time, such that many of the series I would normally watch had to be put on the backburner. Finishing Kyoukai no Kanata after I had written most of these posts didn’t help – the hilarity of the episode 6 spoof was a strong contender for a spot on the list of memories – although in hindsight, I think I’d stick with the moments I’ve chosen anyway. Finally, this was the first time I dropped a noitaminA series after starting it (Galilei Donna was good until episode 3, but I’ve heard that it crashed pretty badly afterwards due to executive meddling, and I’m just not willing to spend my precious time on it)!!! That’s why a full one-third of my list has deviated from what it’s traditionally been. But what’s past is past, and this blog is changing as my own life is, and as anime just doesn’t seem to hold all of my interest anymore. Where will we both be in one year’s time, I wonder? But that’s something I’ll put aside for the time being; instead, here’s the list of what I saw this year:

Series/Shows that finished in 2013 (season begun)

Shirokuma Cafe (Spring 2012)
Psycho-Pass (Autumn 2012)
Robotics;Notes (Autumn 2012)
Magi (Autumn 2012)
Chihayafuru 2 (Winter 2013)
Maoyuu (Winter 2013)
Senyuu (Winter 2013)
Karneval (Spring 2013)
Shingeki no Kyojin (Spring 2013)
Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake Ga Nai. (Spring 2013)
Gatchaman Crowds (Summer 2013)
Monogatari Second Season (Summer 2013)
Servant x Service (Summer 2013)
Uchouten Kazoku (Summer 2013)
Kyoukai no Kanata (Autumn 2013)

Feature length anime/OVAs seen in 2013

Nekomonogatari Black
Rurouni Kenshin (New Kyoto Arc)
Summer Wars

ACG-related Live Action seen in 2013

Rurouni Kenshin

Older series/films I watched or rewatched

Level E
Tiger and Bunny
Evangelion: Q

Dropped

Coppelion (3)
Diabolik Lovers (1)
Galilei Donna (3)
Super Seishun Brothers (3)

Commentaries

Kimi to Boku II

Continuing…

Silver Spoon (Autumn 2013)
Samurai Flamenco (Autumn 2013)

Western Film

Arbitrage
Argo
Casablanca
Cloud Atlas
Dr Strangelove
Ganster Squad
The Great Gatsby
The Impossible
Lincoln
Man of Steel
Skyfall
Star Trek: Into Darkness
White House Down
The Wolverine
Zero Dark Thirty

TV-dramas

Personal Taste (2010 K-drama)
Secret Garden (2010 K-drama)
City Hunter (2011 K-drama)
Game of Thrones (seasons 1-3)

Backlogged (anime)

Genshiken Nidaime
Kyouso Giga
Shin Sekai Yori
(joining)
Moyashimon Returns
Jinrui
Joshiraku
Ikoku Meiro no Croisée The Animation
Mawaru Penguindrum
Madoka Magika
The Disappearance of Suzumiya Haruhi
Gundam Unicorn
Steins;Gate
Natsume Yuujinchou San
The Tatami Galaxy
Kara no Kyoukai
Hellsing Ultimate
Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei
Aoi Bungaku
Ghost in the Shell movies

Backlogged (other)

The Big Bang Theory
Borgen (Danish TV Show)
Breaking Bad
Flowers for My Life (2007)
Gaksitai (2012)
I Hear Your Voice (2013)
Joseon X-Files (2010)
Master’s Sun (2013)
My Name is Kim Sam Soon (2005)
Nine: Nine Time Travels (2013)
Pasta (2010)
The Princess’s Man (2011)
Queen In-hyun’s Man (2012)
The Return of Iljimae (2009)
Sungkyunkwan Scandal (2010)
White Christmas (2011)

And my backlogged list is longer than the list of what I have watched…that’s somewhat frightening…

Total

24 cours of anime (and 1 cour total of dropped series)
1 cour of anime commentary
1 anime feature
1 ACG-related feature
6 cours of K-drama
3 cours of Western TV drama
15 Western features

About karice
MAG fan, freelance translator and political scientist-in-training. I also love musicals, travel and figure skating!

Leave a Reply

