Level E: the art of trolling

*Looks back at the title of the last post she wrote*...I honestly meant to write about a couple of Western films before I finished this series!

*Looks back at the title of the last post she wrote and sweatdrops*…I honestly meant to write about a couple of Western films before I finished this series!

If you’ve been hanging out in the same online circles as I have over the past few years, you’ll know that “troll” is a term that I don’t take very kindly to. What I saw whenever that term was used was unhappy so-called fans taking their distaste for developments in a series out on its creator(s). Needless to say, I generally found their criticism unjustified, and their tendency to label said creators as ‘trolls’ extremely rude.

But real trolling is different. Real trolling is an art – one that has been perfected by Prince Baka Ki El Dogura, Prince and heir to the throne of the planet Dogura. No one else could give his own retainers so much trouble that they’d quite like to kill him themselves.

I'm not kidding, his name really is "Baka," which his Earth-born hosts are quite ready to use in terms of its Japanese meaning... LevelE_07
I’m not kidding, his name really is "Baka," which his Earth-born hosts are quite ready to use in terms of its Japanese meaning…

To say any more about the laughs would be to spoil the fun, so I’m just going to recommend that everyone watch it for themselves. Of course, I don’t think I’d be laughing if I were the target of Baka’s trolling, but as a third-party observer, it’s pretty spectacular, trust me. The opening and ending sequence are also quite fun to watch – I especially liked the unusual colouring scheme, which made the key foci stand out particularly well. And perhaps Alexander Wendt would be interested in investigating all those UFOs further! All up, this show comes highly recommended.

It's somewhat comic-book like, isn't it?

It’s somewhat comic-book like, isn’t it?

Nevertheless, Level E doesn’t quite reach the top echelon for me. I once observed that it was the funniest manga I’d ever read; whilst that may not be true anymore, thanks to a certain title by Takatsu Karino, it will always remain a gem in my mind. The anime isn’t much different, though I do wonder now if my fond memories of it were a little too biased in terms of the enjoyment factor. Why? Well, Level E is quite uneven in terms of its impact: whilst some of the stories had me rolling on the floor, others almost had me yawning. I suppose that’s the curse of comedy: only a masterpiece will be hilarious with each viewing, and whilst this series has the makings of one, it’s not quite sustained throughout. But it’s a highly enjoyable ride anyway, if only to see what a real troll is capable of.

About karice
MAG fan, freelance translator and political scientist-in-training. I also love musicals, travel and figure skating!

One Response to Level E: the art of trolling

  1. Pingback: Man of Steel: Er…”No capes!” | HOT CHOCOLATE IN A BOWL

Leave a Reply

