Magi: I really didn’t need another reminder of just how superficial I can be…

In a medieval world where nations are still being forged, a young boy magician has grown up in a closed magical space. Eventually, he enters into the world at large to find out about himself and what role in the world he should play…

Magi - The Labyrinth of Magic
Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic…

I decided quite early on that I really didn’t have time to follow this series in the blogging and forum spheres (other than the one post on RC every week), but if I were to hazard a guess, Magi has probably received mixed reactions over its run. People who only watched the anime generally seemed to like it, except for the few disappointments with the animation now and then. The tales of friendship, intrigue and politics – amongst others – that are spun are quite interesting, I’ll have to admit. Some of the manga readers probably liked a lot of it too for similar reasons. Then there were people like me who have extremely mixed feelings about it. Given everything that was changed about the final third of the anime first season in particular, I really have no idea how the next season will play out – can they even do some of the things that the manga went on with?

...a tale of friendships and adventure...
…a tale of friendships and adventure…

I understand that they wanted to give the first season an overarching arc (which is why the last part was changed so much), I just didn’t like it all that much. I’d have to wait until the next season to see whether they can pull it off…the only problem there being if I actually would bother to sit down to watch the next season. Given that, of the seiyuu I actually follow, the two in Magi will probably see diminished roles next season, I was pretty close to dropping it.

...as well as intrigue and politics...
…as well as intrigue and politics…

And then I saw episode 25. And heard that voice. Admittedly, I saw it in the credits first…but it was very very recognisable when he finally appeared. So, even though I know it’ll only be an episode here or there…

Bring it on, I say!
Bring it on, I say!

If I can spare the time, of course…

About karice
MAG fan, amateur translator and political scientist-in-training. I also love musicals, travel and figure skating!

One Response to Magi: I really didn’t need another reminder of just how superficial I can be…

  1. Pingback: Magi: the Kingdom of Magic and the balance of power | HOT CHOCOLATE IN A BOWL

Leave a Reply

