Things to do in Tokyo in winter, part 2

Pop into the cinema to see a film that you wouldn’t get to see for another 6-9 months otherwise. Good luck understanding it, of course.

EvaQ

For me, that film was Eva: Q, and as for what I understood…

Basically, Shinji caused 3rd impact at the end of the 2nd film, failed to save Rei anyway, and slept for 14 years. During that time, a large proportion of the cast separated from Nerv to form their own breakaway organisation under Misato, Wille. None of the cast seem to have really aged, though ostensibly, that fate really only befell the 14-year-old pilots. Over the course of the film, upset at the outcome of his actions and frustrated at how everyone other than Kaoru seems to be keeping him in the dark, Shinji ends up choosing a course of action that fits in with his father’s plans…and starts the 4th impact… There is more detail that I remember, but I might leave it at that for now.

The final film, which is due out next year, is currently represented by the musical symbol for ‘end’…or, if you want to include the colon as part of the subtitle, the symbol for ‘repeat’… I’m currently taking it as the former – and that’s supported by the official website’s label of the film as the ‘FINAL’ one (v.s. 1.0, 2.0 and 3.0 for the first three) – but YMMV…

About karice
MAG fan, freelance translator and political scientist-in-training. I also love musicals, travel and figure skating!

3 Responses to Things to do in Tokyo in winter, part 2

  1. Matts says:

    Got around to watching it and I have to say I was less then impressed. For one, I really, really hate the CGi and Misato’s ship (it looks like the skeletal remains of a pokemon called Lugia, even the animation of it’s wings reminds of the animation for the opening scene in the DS port). I think it might have looked good in the theatre, but not on a widescreen monitor. To me it turned out to be one of those situations where I felt like telling the creators “Just because you have the technology doesn’t mean you have to use it”.
    I enjoyed the parts of the movie that were quiet and action free, the beginning felt like a strange mishmash of Diebuster + Gurren Lagann + Eva.
    I was reading Xard’s old post and I’ll probably rewatch the series in the near future to make some comparisions with the characterization of Shinji. That’s about the only part that seems interesting. And I liked Mari this time around.
    It’s also frustrating to watch a movie where the main catalyst for a conflict is holding back information from the main guy who could destroy the world, doing this for no reason. Even during the final battle, instead of fighting him, Asuka could have just explained the situation while Kaworu was putting 2 and 2 together.

    Do you plan on writing a review now that the movie is out for everyone to see?

    Like

    • karice says:

      Hm…I’m not sure if I’ll write a review for this – I didn’t for the previous two, and I tend to like writing about finished stories – though I’ll think about it after I see it again. (Though I’ve now got an inkling on how I’ll frame the post if I do end up writing something ^^)

      I do remember being a bit ambivalent about the CGI myself. That said, the first two films also gave me similar misgivings – the Angels were so CGI’d out that they looked kind of fake. Though some of the character development made up for it in the previous films, I thought.

      Oh, Xard’s written something on it?

      It’s also frustrating to watch a movie where the main catalyst for a conflict is holding back information from the main guy who could destroy the world, doing this for no reason. Even during the final battle, instead of fighting him, Asuka could have just explained the situation while Kaworu was putting 2 and 2 together.

      Someone on Random Curiousity suggested that Shinji may well have pulled the lances out anyway, if he’d been told about it…

      But hm…I really don’t remember anymore. I’m really going to have to sit down and watch it again. (^_^;;)

      Like

  2. Matts says:

    Xard wrote about impressions people had awhile back on his blog. Too bad he doesn’t post often, I enjoyed reading his writings.

    I don’t remember the CGi in the first 2, maybe because of how long it’s been and I enjoyed the second. Still, it’s nice to know it wasn’t just me who was bothered by it.

    I was expecting more from this and it’s partly my fault that I ended up dissapointed. There were scenes I really enjoyed, the ones that had no CGi. Misato, her crew and ship were terrible to watch. I’m a huge fan of the Buster series (God forbid they remake that…) and even though it’s been a year since I’ve last seen Gunbuster and Diebuster back to back, I kept face palming. I felt that the 2nd movies ending gave off Gurren vibes, but that was unexpected and fresh from Shinji’s character, meanwhile this was just like a really bad homage.

    That’s an interesting thought. I was going by how nobody talked to Shinji even while he was on the Wunder, and they had plenty of time to explain the situation. I’ll get around to reading the comments on RC.

    Like

Leave a Reply

