Kimi ni Todoke (live-action film): hmm…

From wiki:

Sawako Kuronuma, called Sadako by her classmates for her resemblance to the character from The Ring, has always been feared and misunderstood because of her appearance. There are rumors that Sawako can see ghosts and curse people. However, despite her appearances, she is a sweet and timid girl who longs to be able to make friends with everyone and be liked by everyone else. When her idol, popular boy Kazehaya, begins talking with her, everything changes. She finds herself in a new world, trying to make friends and talking to different people and she can’t thank Kazehaya enough for giving her these opportunities. Slowly, but surely, a sweet love blossoms between the two as they overcome circumstances and obstacles that stand in their way.

I don't know about you...but I kinda prefer their anime incarnations...

After the disaster of Hanakami (the first J-drama) and the semi-disaster of Hachikuro (the film was terrible, and I didn’t try the TV drama – even though my current favourite Japanese TV actor was involved), I really wasn’t too keen on watching another live-action adaptation of a manga. Especially a manga that has a pretty damn good anime adaptation already going for it. But well, even I have to admit that Miura Haruma has a pretty sweet smile – even if I didn’t like the other film I saw him in…

So how do real life people hold up to one of the most enjoyable high-school romances of the anime-manga world? To be honest, not too badly. Tabe Mikako doesn’t really glow as much as Sawako does in what I’ll call ‘Shouta vision’ in the anime/manga – though to be fair, no one could! – but she was quite awkwardly cute nonetheless. On the other hand, Miura’s smile really channels Kazehaya, though I thought that him somewhat bland because the issues that Kazehaya has seem really thinned out. And the less said of the supporting characters, the better… That’s what happens when you try to fit 4-5 hours worth of material into a 2 hour film! Though I did think Kiritani Mirei quite good as Kurumi, juicy role though that was…

That said…how they confessed and got together in the end was still quite sweet…

In the end, was it worth it? Well, the Kimi ni Todoke film certainly kept me entertained for a couple of hours. And it hasn’t put me off live-action adaptations (unlike one of the titles mentioned above) – I’ll keep watching in the hope that I can find something as good as Nodame Cantabile again! Though it doesn’t matter either way, as long as they keep making the occasional gem like Beautiful Life or Last Friends ^^

About karice
MAG fan, freelance translator and political scientist-in-training. I also love musicals, travel and figure skating!

Leave a Reply

