Quick Reviews: Various movies

I don’t really have that much to say on these three, which is why they’re being lumped here under one entry.

Made of Honour is apparently the reverse version of My Best Friend’s Wedding (I can’t say anything simply because I haven’t seen it). I suppose it’s worth seeing if you love romantic comedies and/or Patrick Dempsey.

Crows Zero was another movie I decided to see based solely on the actors in it…well, specifically one, Oguri Shun. The characters are based on those of a manga by Takahashi Hiroshi. It was basically a "let’s see how much we crap we can beat out of the characters without killing any of them." Oops, gave that away…but seriously, what did you expect?

I finally saw Gedo Senki…and frankly, I can see why it got lukewarm reviews at best. Unlike all the Miyazaki Hayao films I love, it didn’t really have that magical feeling. It isn’t just about the story (which I felt didn’t make sense given that the main character is meant to be Ged!), but also that the visuals just weren’t as magnificent as what I’ve come to expect from Studio Ghibli. I skimmed the plot on wikipedia, and it’s been changed quite heavily too…I’ll read Earthsea one day, but I don’t think I’ll ever see this version of it ever again.

About karice
MAG fan, amateur translator and political scientist-in-training. I also love musicals, travel and figure skating!

Leave a Reply

