Review: PotC: Dead Man’s Chest

IIRC, up until July 6th, the last film I’d seen on opening day was The Return of the King. I’m not someone who generally sees films when the cinema is likely to be crowded, especially for a pop-corn flick such as Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest. But being a uni student has certain perks, such as being able to catch a film in the middle of the day before the school students can intrude. And of course I am highly grateful that I was in Perth rather than Melbourne on July 6th, or the cinema would probably have been flooded throughout the day.

DMC is a sequel, so I’ll just dive right in. Hm…no pun intended. Not the best sequel ever made, and probably not the best film out atm (I haven’t exactly been going to the cinema all that much), but it doesn’t disappoint – or at least, not most of the time. I knew exceeding little about the film before before I saw it (didn’t even recognise any of the new actors, eg. Bill Nighy…) and so had no expectations other than the desire to be entertained. And entertained I was.

Once established, what else would a pirates franchise do except tackle the ruler of the seas – Davy Jones? The tool with which he controls the seas is the legendary Kraken, so naturally the East India Company is interested in how it can control Jones himself. And the answer to that lies in the Dead Man’s Chest. I’ll get the bad out of the way – the character designs for Davy Jones and his crew…I mean, sea creatures? Sure, maybe you want to represent them as being particularly inhuman, but was it really necessary to make them that…fishy? (Although having Jones play the organ with tentacles was pretty nice imagery…) Aiming for the love triangle is really stupid too. I just don’t see Jack as someone who could possibly fall in love with someone like Elizabeth, not to mention that Will and Elizabeth obviously make decisions that are ultimately for the benefit of each other, no matter who else might suffer. And finally, the length…at two and a half hours, the film started to drag at the end.

However, there were many features to like, from the characterisation to the sheer melodrama of certain sequences. The first PotC film introduced the main players, and especially with Elizabeth and Jack, they didn’t change all that much. DMC really develops their characters further – showing how the former can be a manipulative little rogue, highly suited for life on the high seas in that respect, and the latter as a free bird who doesn’t know quite what he wants. Perhaps it’s true, “you know you want to be good.” As for Will, he’s becoming a leader, although he still does some stupid, male things…as in the er…waterwheel fight with the Commodore (I mean, we expect it of Jack because that’s just how he is, but…). And I loved the melodramatic beginning – wonderful day for a wedding that was.

As for the ending…shall we say ‘Matrix Revolutions’? The only problems are – there wasn’t a sneak preview clip at the end of this film, and we haveabout a year to wait instead of six months. But I suppose I’ll approach it the same way as I approached DMC – knowing as little as possible. (Not that I had to endeavour not to spoil myself…I didn’t even know which characters from the first film were turning up again – although I totally expected Geoffrey Rush at the end ^^)

———

Lastly, fernwithy has made an interesting post on Jack Sparrow, the epitome of a dying (or dead) breed of humankind.

*sighs* it’s back to uni tomorrow. I need to clear this HDD out.R

About karice
MAG fan, freelance translator and political scientist-in-training. I also love musicals, travel and figure skating!

One Response to Review: PotC: Dead Man’s Chest

  1. Pingback: Review: PotC: Dead Man’s Chest - The Pirates Post

Leave a Reply

