Quick Review: Fullmetal Alchemist: The Conqueror of Shambala

I finally saw Fullmetal Alchemist: The Conqueror of Shambala on Friday…eschewing far more important priorities to do so (although…I did sign up in O-week…which I don’t think I’ve done since my first year…). Anyways, I don’t really know what I was expecting…but this wasn’t it.

There’s one thing about Hagaren that I’ll always love, and that’s the humour. They do start of with it, in the form of a story which Ed tells Germany’s Alphonse (I’ll use Al for his brother…makes it easier), and there is more amusement every time Ed meets someone he ‘knows’ (I especially loved the looks on their faces at the end, when they encounter Scar and Lust…together). But I didn’t get some of the humour, especially when they confront Eckart – I’m wondering if there’s a pop-culture reference I wasn’t able to recognise.

As for further linking between the Ed’s world and ours…there was the atomic bomb…and the failed “Beer Hall Putsch” on Novermber 8th 1923 (they actually have real historical events in this! and Hitler looked really strange…) and Fritz Lang, who was not actually Jewish, although he was rumoured to have Jewish ancestry, a trait which would have had him targeted by the Nazis too, I expect (Mabuse, btw, is a character made famous by Lang)…anime can make you read up on history! These links are fun to chase up, and probably were some of the reasons everyone in the theater was so entertained by the movie.

As for the what happened in between (Izumi!!!! and Envy…@_@) and at the end…Ed!!!!!!!!!! How could you just abandon Winry like that!!!!!!! (And Al too!!) Wrath’s fate was pretty sweet, and Hohenheim’s just painful… I guess we couldn’t have expected a completely happy ending (although I’m sure that many female fans were more than happy with what must be called fan-service – I mean, that dialogue!!) so I’m looking forward to what Arakawa-sensei has in mind for the manga.

But yeah…the way the movie was made means that I’ll probably never write a proper review on it…I just can’t take it seriously. ^^ I am a little sad it’s over, and a teeny bit upset at the way it ended, but the ride was fun.

About karice
MAG fan, amateur translator and political scientist-in-training. I also love musicals, travel and figure skating!

Leave a Reply

