Review: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (2005)

Three days late…but well, I only said I’d try…

Went to see Charlie and the Chocolate Factory about…10 days ago now. Haven’t seen the original film incarnation (with Gene Wilder), nor read any reviews of Tim Burton’s film, although I have heard that quite a number dislike this new take on Roald Dahl’s story. Personally, I’m a fan of both Tim Burton and Johnny Depp (especially when he’s in a wacky role like this one), so that has coloured my opinion.

I enjoyed Charlie, largely because I didn’t know quite what to expect, having not been following any entertainment news on tv for a while – I hadn’t seen any trailers either, just the posters when walking in Chinatown and such. I also haven’t read the book in a long time, but Burton/Depp’s Willy Wonka struck me as somewhat different from any lingering impression I have of Dahl’s Wonka – he seems much less mysterious, largely because of the added background about his father and the reason he started in the confectionary business (I laughed when Christopher Lee appeared as his father – to have a father like that, and a dentist no less!). Some people (including a friend of mine, even though I heard it from another friend…) also noted that Charlie pretty much disappears for half the film, making it seem like Willy Wonka was the main character. In a sense, he was…the film keeps the ideal of the loving family – in fact, it emphasises it through Wonka’s misconceptions – and Charlie’s heart of gold, but he doesn’t change. It’s Wonka who changes due to their interaction. Is there a message in this? It’s up to individuals to consider for themselves I think…I’m still reflecting on it myself…slightly anyway, since I’m meant to be studying.

Well, I’ll see what I think after reading the book again.

About karice
MAG fan, amateur translator and political scientist-in-training. I also love musicals, travel and figure skating!

Leave a Reply

