“I love the smell of napalm in the morning.”

Finishing the semester here has actually meant that I’m avoiding being online somehow…not because that’s what I’ve decided – I’m just going out a lot more now…movies, midnight snacks and stuff. Plus the problem that the internet connection for the uni year ended without warning at noon yesterday (had 6 episodes left to dl…-__-..); they could at least have told us it ended at noon…

Saw Kingdom of Heaven on Thursday night – had to decide between that, Hitchhiker’s and The Interpreter – and I’m not entirely sure that was the best choice. KoH isn’t too bad…and the romance (which is what usually irks me about epics) actually has a place in the plot. It’s just that Balian seemed to forget about his wife pretty quickly, even though he was meant to be so badly affected by her suicide… One thing I did like was that, even though Guy de Lusignan wasn’t killed by Saladin, he didn’t turn up again later in pursuit of Balian. All in all, not a bad night out (especially since we went out for curry after that too), but I’m wondering if a comedy like HHGTTG would have been more appropriate for the post-exams celebration.

One more thing about the film…(which my older brother would kill me for if he happens to read this…) I read a review of LOTR: ROTK last year where the reviewer wasn’t very impressed with Viggo Mortensen’s peformance as Aragorn (or more appropriately, King Elessar) – I could see why; his voice just doesn’t carry that well, it doesn’t really seem all that majestic. What we (my brother and I) disagreed with was her opinion that Orlando Bloom would have been a better choice for the role (I mean, WTH?!?), but after KoH, I’ll admit one thing…Orlando’s voice IS more commanding than Viggo’s.

Also saw Revenge of the Sith…and it’s better than the previous two. The Film Review special on Star Wars did point out that this prequel trilogy was developed mainly for this film, and it’s really is quite good (better than RotJ I’d say, maybe than Star Wars: A New Hope, though I still prefer Empire)…but the dialogue was shoddy as usual (they killed Padme’s character even before she actually died!), and in some ways, Anakin’s motivation for becoming Darth Vader is cliched; the whole ‘prophecy leads one to be an agent in its fulfilment’ idea (eg. in Sophocles’s Oedipus Rex). But it was fitting…

A little discontinuity…didn’t Luke ask Leia in RotJ what she remembered of her mother? (This is taken from an internet script…I’ll check it when I’m at home or something…):
   LUKE: Leia… do you remember your mother? Your real mother?
   LEIA: Just a little bit. She died when I was very young.
   LUKE: What do you remember?
   LEIA: Just…images, really. Feelings.
   LUKE: Tell me.
   LEIA: She was very beautiful. Kind, but…sad. Why are you asking me all this?
   LUKE: I have no memory of my mother. I never knew her.

etc…
They were obviously meant to be talking about Padme…and Leia would never have known her either, given RotS

The 10 fandom shames meme circulating LJ a while ago gave rise to some interesting entries…I actually don’t really know my 10…but this is definitely at the top:

The only thing I won’t forgive George Lucas for, is not that he decided to make the Star Wars prequels, nor that he, for the most part, screwed them up, and it’s not that he writes such stupid dialogue either – after all, hearing Harrison Ford say some of those lines is just W-O-N-D-E-R-F-U-L… It’s not even that he refuses to release the original trilogy, un-remastered, on DVD…nor that he allowed Chewbacca to be killed in the Young Jedi Knights series.

Nope, the one thing I will never forgive him for, is that…, in the middle of the YJK series, rather than Jacen, he had Anakin Solo killed… And I haven’t even read a single book of the series…

About karice
MAG fan, freelance translator and political scientist-in-training. I also love musicals, travel and figure skating!

Leave a Reply

